The Leather-Stocking Tales/Hurons

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Mohican WWWboard ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Zapata on July 31, 2000 at 14:00:44:

I finally got around to reading the Leather-Stocking Tales, of which LOTM is one. However, my understanding is that Cooper did not write them sequentially. LOTM is the last of the five romances, and I am currently reading The Deerslayer which I believe is supposed to be their first in the series. However, I am not sure about the order in which the books in the middle (The Pathfinder, The Pioneers, The Prairie) should be read or if they HAVE to be read in a particular order. Can anyone provide information as to the actuall order of the books as they are supposed to be read.

Also, in reading Deerslayer, I've come across a number of Cooper's references to Hurons AND Iroquois which he seems to be using interchangeably. Is this correct? Again, if anyone can shed some light on this matter, I would greatly appreciate it.


Follow Ups:

Post a Followup

Name    : 
E-Mail  : 
Subject : 
Comments: Optional Link URL: Link Title: Optional Image URL:

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Mohican WWWboard ] [ FAQ ]