Re: The Leather-Stocking Tales/Hurons

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Mohican WWWboard ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Adele on July 31, 2000 at 15:44:43:

In Reply to: The Leather-Stocking Tales/Hurons posted by Zapata on July 31, 2000 at 14:00:44:

: I finally got around to reading the Leather-Stocking Tales, of which LOTM is one. However, my understanding is that Cooper did not write them sequentially. LOTM is the last of the five romances, and I am currently reading The Deerslayer which I believe is supposed to be their first in the series. However, I am not sure about the order in which the books in the middle (The Pathfinder, The Pioneers, The Prairie) should be read or if they HAVE to be read in a particular order. Can anyone provide information as to the actuall order of the books as they are supposed to be read.

: Also, in reading Deerslayer, I've come across a number of Cooper's references to Hurons AND Iroquois which he seems to be using interchangeably. Is this correct? Again, if anyone can shed some light on this matter, I would greatly appreciate it.

: Zapata


I think the chronological order is The Deerslayer, The Last of the Mohicans, The Pathfinder, The Pioneers, The Prairie.

As far as the other point goes, not entirely certain, I think that the Iroquois were a group of six peoples (including Mohawk) which eventually became the League of Five (and then Six) Nations. The Hurons were 'absorbed' into the Iroquois community in the mid 17th century, although some surviving Huron communities remained. Not an expert on this at hope that someone else can bail me out here!! Rich, Elaine?


Follow Ups:

Post a Followup

Name    : 
E-Mail  : 
Subject : 
Comments: Optional Link URL: Link Title: Optional Image URL:

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Mohican WWWboard ] [ FAQ ]